Cooper Medical School of Rowan Univerisity
  Instagram Facebook Twitter Contact

Welcome to the Office of Medical Education - Undergraduate Programs


At CMSRU, our medical education program is committed to the education of physicians for the 21st century and the changing healthcare environment.

Our curriculum arises from our mission. We believe that medical education should be a seamless continuum over four years, integrating knowledge of basic scientific concepts, early clinical experience and patient care, self-directed learning, teamwork, and medical and non-medical activities for the greater community’s benefit. Our students are able to immediately apply basic scientific principles that they learn to patient care. Our collaborative and integrated approach to teaching puts biomedical scientists and clinicians together with our students, primarily in small group settings. Students have ample time to reflect upon their experiences and enhance their understanding through self-directed inquiry and learning opportunities. Our focus on healthcare delivery, systems engineering, outcome-driven care, and cost containment are key facets of the curriculum that will enable graduates to thrive in the ever-changing world of healthcare.

We believe that the design and continued evaluation of our curriculum will foster physicians who will commit to lifelong learning and provide care that is compassionate, evidenced-based, and improves not only the health of the individual, but of the community. 

We welcome you to our school and our website, and thank you for your interest in CMSRU!

 

Contact us

Associate Dean for Medical Education
Susan M. Perlis, EdD
PerlisS@rowan.edu
(856) 361-2830
Assistant Dean for Assessment & Continuous Quality Improvement
Matthew Gentile, EdD
gentilmm@rowan.edu
(856) 361-2814
Assistant Dean for Curriculum - Phase 1
Andrea Bottaro, PhD
bottaro@rowan.edu
(856) 361-2867


Assistant Dean for Curriculum Phase 2
Sundip Patel, MD
Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine
patel-sundip@cooperhealth.edu

Senior Director, Curricular Innovation
Brian Gable, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Gable-brian@cooperhealth.edu

Director, Curriculum and Student Development
Director, M3 Curriculum
Joseph Campellone, MD
Professor of Neurology
Campellone-joseph@cooperhealth.edu

Director, M4 Curriculum
Niranda Mahamitra, MD
Assistant Professor of Family Medicine
Mahamitra-niranda@cooperhealth.edu

Director, Interprofessional Education
Elizabeth A. Fletcher DNP, APN-BC, AAHIVS
Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine
Fletcher-elizabeth@cooperhealth.edu

Director of Medical Library
Susan K. Cavanaugh MS MPH
Cavanaugh@rowan.edu
(856) 342-2855
Director of Simulation
Amanda R. Burden, MD
Burden-Amanda@cooperhealth.edu
(856) 361-2830
Director, Ultrasound Curriculum
Sarab Sodhi, MD, MAUB
Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine
Sodhi-sarab@cooperhealth.edu