Cooper Medical School of Rowan Univerisity
  Instagram Facebook Twitter Contact

Welcome to the Cooper Medical School of Rowan University Simulation Center

The CMSRU Simulation and Clinical Skills Center is a state-of-the-art facility housed on the second and third floors of the Joint Health Sciences Center, which is located at the intersection of Broadway and Martin Luther King Boulevard in Camden, NJ, a block from the CMSRU Medical Education Building. CMSRU medical students as well as Cooper Health System residents, nursing staff and practicing physicians all utilize the Sim Center for a wide variety of immersive educational activities.

The Sim Center includes 12 simulated outpatient exam rooms, 5 high fidelity inpatient rooms (an operating room, a birthing suite and 3 medical/surgical inpatient rooms), a virtual reality lab, multiple classrooms and the Sim Center staff offices. Some of the educational equipment that the simulation center team uses includes 10 high fidelity mannequins, 7 ultrasound machines, 4 laparoscopic trainers, the Mentor virtual reality training system, and over 100 procedural task trainers. The Sim Center utilizes comprehensive computerized examination and advanced audiovisual systems, which are managed through 6 control rooms. The simulation team includes 9 staff members, over 150 simulated/standardized patients and innumerable faculty and takes pride in executing high quality, realistic simulation experiences in the safe learning environment of the Sim Center.

CMSRU students begin working in the Sim Center within the first few weeks of their first year and continue participating in simulation and clinical skills activities throughout their medical education until graduation. The educational programs include, but are not limited to physical exam and communication skills teaching sessions, formative and summative assessments with simulated/standardized patients, procedural teaching sessions and critical patient management case scenarios. The CMSRU Student Simulation Society offers students interested in simulation the opportunity to further explore the educational theory behind simulation education and other aspects of this growing field.

Contact us

Director, Clinical Skills and Simulation
Amanda Burden, MD, FASA, FSSH
Professor of Anesthesiology
burdena@rowan.edu
(856) 361-2831
Director of Simulation Operations
Jim Baca, MBA, FACHE, EMT-P
baca@rowan.edu
(856) 361-2832
SP Program Coordinator
Aileen Zanoni, BA
zanoni@rowan.edu
(856) 361-2835
Simulation Technology Specialist
Lisa Fecteau, EMT
fecteau@rowan.edu
(856) 956-2783
Simulation Educator
Greg Giovanni, BFA, MA
giovanni@rowan.edu
(856) 956-2772
Simulation Educator and Technologist
Bradley Wrenn, BA
wrenn@rowan.edu
(856) 956-2758
Standardized Patient Trainer
Robert Kressly
Kressly@rowan.edu
(856) 956-2761

Simulation Technician
Grant Bolopue, BA
bolopue@rowan.edu
Administrative Support
Valerie Bonvechio, AAS
bonvechio@rowan.edu
(856) 956-2756