Skip to main content

Our History

A partnership between Rowan University and The Cooper Health System, Cooper Medical School of Rowan University (CMSRU) opened in summer 2012. It is the only four-year, M.D.-granting medical school in South Jersey. CMSRU is proudly mission-driven, focused on developing highly skilled and socially conscious physician leaders who value a patient-centered, team approach to health care. Its innovative curriculum provides students with small-group, self-directed learning with early and continuous patient care experiences, beginning the third week of medical school in the Cooper Rowan Clinic.

Annette C. Reboli, M.D., is Dean of CMSRU. CMSRU earned Full Accreditation from the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) in June 2016 and received full re-accreditation for the maximum eight years in November 2021.

About Rowan University

Rowan University is a Carnegie-classified national doctoral research institution dedicated to excellence in undergraduate education. It offers bachelor’s through doctoral programs to almost 20,000 students through its campuses in Glassboro, Camden, Stratford and Sewell, New Jersey. Home to Cooper Medical School of Rowan University and the School of Osteopathic Medicine, it is one of only three universities in the nation to grant both M.D. and D.O. medical degrees. In addition, Rowan comprises 15 schools and colleges. 

Rowan is collaborating with regional leaders to create research and academic programs in health sciences. It has earned national recognition for innovation, commitment to high-quality, affordable education and developing public-private partnerships. 

Academically advanced undergraduate students can pursue a 3+4 medical degree program; 3 undergraduate years of study + 4 medical school years. Students can pursue a physician-engineer training program with the dual Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Biomedical Engineering (BME) and Doctor of Medicine (MD), a joint program from the Department of BME in the Henry Rowan College of Engineering and CMSRU.

About Cooper University Health Care
Our clinical affiliate, Cooper University Health Care, is the leading academic health care system in South Jersey. Over 800 physicians provide expert care in over 75 specialties at outpatient offices and urgent care centers in the southern New Jersey region. CUH is South Jersey’s only Level 1 Trauma Center and its Children’s Regional Hospital is the only Level II Pediatric Trauma Center in the Delaware Valley. CUH’s flagship, Cooper University Hospital in Camden is the core clinical campus for CMSRU.
Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME)
Cooper Medical School of Rowan University's medical education program is accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME). For more information or verification, contact the LCME Secretariat.