Skip to main content

CMSRU earns Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society Chapter

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society (ΑΩΑ) has approved the Gamma New Jersey Chapter at Cooper Medical School of Rowan University (CMSRU) in Camden, NJ, announced Annette C. Reboli, MD, interim dean of CMSRU. The faculty councilor for the chapter is Michael Chansky, MD, Chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine; the Secretary-Treasurer is Andrew McGarry, MD, Assistant Professor of Neurology.

CMSRU embarked on the formal process to charter its ΑΩΑ chapter upon earning full accreditation from the Liaison Committee on Medical Education last June. The Chiron Honor Society, which recognizes students with the highest academic performance at CMSRU, was a precursor to ΑΩΑ and will continue to be the pipeline for the school's Gamma New Jersey Chapter.

"Alpha Omega Alpha has a long history of promoting excellence and scholarship in the field of medicine and I'm very proud that CMSRU, as a new medical school, was selected as the Gamma New Jersey Chapter," said Bill Kocher, MD, assistant dean of curriculum, ΑΩΑ member and one of the lead faculty members advocating for the CMSRU chapter. "We look forward to our students, residents and faculty becoming active members in this prestigious organization."

Since its founding in 1902, Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society has recognized and advocated for excellence in scholarship, demonstrated professionalism, and the growth of physician leadership in the profession of medicine. Through 130 active chapters in the United States and Lebanon, more than 3,600 new members are inducted into the society each year. More than 55 Nobel Prize winners are members of Alpha Omega Alpha, as well as 11 of the 19 United States Surgeons General, including Dr. Vivek Murthy. Nearly 75 percent of deans of U.S. medical schools are members of AΩA. Alpha Omega Alpha annually grants more than $1.5 million in programs and awards to impact medical students, residents, teachers, and community physicians.